Event: August 17: A Non-Visual Perspective on Self-Defense

via email

Accessible World ClassRoom of the Air presents A Non-Visual Perspective on Self-Defense, August 17, 2010

In this seminar, Larry Lewis, President of Flying Blind LLC will be discussing non-visual strategies for self-defense techniques that can be used by persons who are blind/visually impaired. Lewis has studied a few different martial arts but has found his passion in training Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, a grappling-based Martial Art with a highly affective self-defense component that requires no vision to learn and utilize.

Lewis will be discussing the components of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu as well as the pluses of training in this amazing martial art as well as offering strategies for avoiding conflict situations should they arise.

Users will gain an understanding of how such a Martial Art can improve the overall quality of one’s life while keeping them safe in the unfortunate event that much larger assailants attack them.

Presenter: Larry Lewis
Group Discussion Leaders
Ruth Ann Acosta, Email: ruth1244@gmail.com
Sherry Wells E-mail: sdwells@us.ibm.com

Date: Tuesday, August 17, 2010
Time: 6:00 PM PDT, 7:00 PM MDT, 8:00 PM CDT, 9:00 PM EDT and elsewhere in the world Wednesday 01:00 GMT.

Approximately 15 minutes prior to the event start time; go to the Accessible World Classroom.

Or, alternatively,

Select The Accessible World Classroom Room at: www.accessibleworld.org

Enter your first and last names on the sign-in screen.

If you are a first-time user of the Talking Communities online conferencing software, there is a small, safe software program that you need to download and then run. A link to the software is available on every entry screen to the Accessible World rooms.

All online interactive programs are free of charge, and open to anyone worldwide having an Internet connection, a computer, speakers, and a sound card. Those with microphones can interact audibly with the presenters and others in the virtual audience. To speak to us, hold down the control key and let up to listen. If no microphone is available, you may text chat with the attendees.

By 16 August, 2010.    signal boost