Web Event: Accessible World Tek Talk presents Dean Martineau discussing Speech Recognition, July 19, 2010

Would you like to write documents by speaking to your computer, rather than typing, or are you somebody who needs to perform all your computer operations with little or no use of your hands? While still challenging, these feats are becoming ever more possible with the steady improvement of speech recognition technology.

Dean Martineau will provide an overview of the available resources to make this all possible on Tek Talk on July 19 at 5:00 P.M. Pacific Time, 8:00 P.M. Eastern time, 00:00 Tuesday GMT. He will provide guidelines to help you evaluate which of the available speech recognition options might be for you, and will demonstrate some aspects of them. This will be an opportunity for you to learn about the state of the art in speech recognition as it pertains to the blind, and to ask questions about your own situation.

Presenter: Dean Martineau
Email: dean@topdotenterprises.com

Date: Monday, July 19, 2010

Time: 5:00 PM PDT, 6:00 PM MDT, 7:00 PM CDT, and 8:00 PM EDT
and elsewhere in the world Tuesday 00:00 GMT

More details below:

Approximately 15 minutes prior to the event start time; go to The Pat Price Tek Talk Training Room.

Or, alternatively.

Select The Pat Price Tek Talk Training Room at: Accessible World

Enter your first and last names on the sign-in screen.

All Tek Talk training events are recorded so if you are unable to participate live at the above times then you may download the presentation or podcast from the Tek Talk archives on our website at www.accessibleworld.org

If you are a first-time user of the Talking Communities online conferencing software, there is a small, safe software program that you need to download and then run. A link to the software is available on every entry screen to the Accessible World online rooms.

All online interactive programs are free of charge, and open to anyone worldwide having an Internet connection, a computer, speakers, and a sound card. Those with microphones can interact audibly with the presenters and others in the virtual audience or text chat with the attendees. To speak to us, hold down the control key and talk; then let up to listen.

Accessible World uses News Wires, like this one, to inform people of the topic and times for the many Discussion Groups on Accessible World. The lists are announce only to keep the traffic to a minimum. You can join the Accessible World Announce List, the Tek Talk Announce List or the Sports Talk Announce List by completing the form at: www.accessibleworld.org/mailinglists

Accessible World also provides a Tek Talk Discussion List. This list is intended to give you an opportunity to ask computer related questions, suggest topics to be used in the weekly Monday training programs, or just to interact with others interested in using assistive devices to access computers. You may sign up for this list by selecting the Tek Talk Discussion link on the same page and completing the form.

Accessible World Contacts:

Robert Acosta, Chair
Accessible World
818-998-0044
Email: boacosta@pacbell.net
Web: www.helpinghands4theblind.org

Marcia Moses, Events Coordinator
Accessible World
734-495-1496
Email: mgmoses@comcast.net

Steve Hoffman, President
Talking Communities
Email: steve@talkingcommunities.com

The Accessible World, a division of Helping Hands For The Blind, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization, seeks to educate the general public, the disabled community and the professionals who serve them by providing highly relevant information about new products, services, and training opportunities designed specifically to eliminate geographic and access barriers that adversely affect them

By 15 July, 2010.    events, signal boost